Eggnog Cupcakes

I hope all of you had a very Merry Christmas! I know exactly what you’re thinking. Trust me, I had the same first reaction too! Whenever I drink eggnog I can only have a few sips of it because I feel like the thickness and flavors are too overpowering. After analyzing this weird drink, I realized that all the flavors would be perfect in a baked good! The nutmeg, cinnamon, etc.

Well, I must say, these eggnog cupcakes are absolutely amazing! The flavors are perfect, it really tastes like eggnog but not too much, and the cupcake is perfectly fluffy and moist (I get so disappointed when my cupcakes come out too dense and dry!). My family on both sides loved these, so I don’t know how much more convincing I can get!


 

Ingredients:

Cupcakes
  • ½ cup butter, softened
  • 2 eggs
  • ½ cup eggnog
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla
  • 1¼ cups flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • ¾ teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • ½ teaspoon baking powder
  • ¼ teaspoon baking soda
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
Frosting
  • 2 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 2 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla
  • ¼ teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • eggnog

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 350°F. Line 12 regular-size muffin cups with paper baking cups.
  2. In medium bowl, stir together all cupcake ingredients except butter, eggs and eggnog.
  3. In large bowl, beat butter until creamy (about 1 minute). Add flour mixture and beat until mixture resembles fine crumbs. Add eggs and beat for 1 minute – batter should be light in color and a bit fluffy. Scrape bowl; gently beat in ½ cup eggnog just until combined and batter is silky and smooth.
  4. Divide batter evenly among 14 muffin cups. Bake for 18-22 minutes until tops are golden and an inserted toothpick comes out clean. Allow to cool completely.
  5. For the frosting, combine butter, cream cheese, vanilla, nutmeg, and cinnamon and beat until smooth. Add powdered sugar, 1 up at a time, and mix to combine. Add eggnog 1 tablespoon at a time and mix until frosting is spreadable. Spread or pipe onto cooled cupcakes. Store in airtight container at room temperature.
  6. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

