Cake Pops

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Look how cute!!! These things are becoming such a hit. So yesterday was my aunt’s baby shower, and my mom and I had a huge part it in by baking 70 of these cake pops! Luckily, the northeast got hit with a blizzard on Saturday and this is basically what we spent the whole day inside doing. (I definitely took a break though to go outside with my neighbor for just 3 hours!) Just a tad tedious, but I definitely enjoyed it. I’m so ashamed to say this, but we used boxed cake mix for all 3 flavors (vanilla, chocolate, red velvet) AND fake frosting too (even the cream cheese for the red velvet)! Yes, yes I know I’m basically going against all of my baking morals, but is it bad if I say they tasted super super good?! (I can’t help my love for vanilla boxed cake and canned frosting) Well, I’m sure they would be 1000x better if we made the cakes and frosting from scratch, but my mom did that whole part and then we’d be pulling an all nighter! So I used to use this cake pop maker where you just pour in the cake batter and they form ball shapes, but they don’t have the frosting mixed in and it’s just not as good at all! We made these all covered in pink chocolate, but of course you can use any chocolate/flavor cakes you want. I’m just gonna tell you the special tips!


Ingredients:

  • 1 sheet cake (13×9 pan)
  • 1 cup of frosting
  • lollipop sticks
  • 1 bag of melting chocolate
  • sprinkles if desired

Directions:

  1. Put all the cake into one big bowl after it has cooled and combine with frosting. Use a fork to mash it all up together. It should be able to stick together well if you form it into a ball and have a clay-like texture. (Try not to eat too much of this part like I did! LOL).
  2. Line a cookie sheet with parchment or wax paper.
  3. Ball the cake/frosting mixture into balls and place on sheet. Make sure they are packed really tight! If they keep coming apart, add more frosting to your mixture until it’s a good texture.
  4. Place 1 lollipop stick into each ball and put in freezer for 30 minutes or until hard.
  5. Melt melting chocolate in a mug, a handful at a time, for 1 minute in the microwave.
  6. Dip each ball into chocolate by pushing upwards against the side of the mug. Be gentle! Some might break, but don’t worry, those are for snacking on. šŸ™‚
  7. Add sprinkles on top right after dipping in chocolate.
  8. Let dry in the bottom of an egg carton that has poked holes in it.
  9. Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

