Coconut Dream Bars

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I hope everyone’s enjoying these bits of snow. (I’m dying for a snow day already! It’s the perfect day to bake a ton of stuff). So my friend Kelsey was begging me to bake these for her for so long! Since it was her birthday this past week, I decided to make them for her and the rest of my SUPA Forensics class. I’m pretty sure everyone had at least 2 and some people had even more! It was a huge hit and I’m shocked, as I know coconut is a hit or miss with most people. I think these are too warm and mushy to make in the summer, so it’s a great recipe for the winter.


Ingredients:

FOR THE CRUST

  • 3 cups graham cracker crumbs (from about 20 crackers)
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/4 teaspoon coarse salt

FOR THE TOPPING

  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 2 cups sweetened flaked coconut
  • 1 3/4 cups plus 2 tablespoons sweetened condensed milk

Directions: 

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees with a rack in the center of oven. Butter a 9-by-13-inch baking pan and line with parchment paper; set aside.

  2. To make the crust: In a medium bowl, mix together graham cracker crumbs, melted butter, and salt. Pour mixture into prepared pan and press into bottom of pan using your fingertips.

  3. To make the topping: In another medium bowl, mix together chocolate chips and coconut; sprinkle evenly over crust.

  4. Pour condensed milk evenly over coconut and chips, covering the entire surface. Transfer to oven and bake, rotating pan halfway through baking, making sure the milk does not get too brown or bubble over in the pan, 26 to 32 minutes.

  5. Transfer baking pan to a wire rack to cool completely. Cut into 20 squares. Serve immediately, or wrap each bar tightly with plastic wrap and keep refrigerated until ready to serve.

  6. Enjoy!

Leave a comment